NSW Science & Engineering Awards 2013

The awards were first presented in 2008 to recognise and reward the State's leading researchers in science and engineering for cutting-edge work that generates economic, health, environmental or technological benefits for New South Wales.

The awards aim to engage and involve the public as well as the NSW research community in promoting the value of science and engineering, and to encourage careers in both fields.

NSW Scientist of the Year

The prestigious NSW Scientist of the Year prize will be awarded to an outstanding individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of science and/or engineering that benefits or has the potential to benefit our community.

The NSW Scientist of the Year receives $55,000 in prize money and a trophy.

The 2013 NSW Scientist of the Year is Professor Graeme Jameson from the University of Newcastle.

Eight categories in this year's awards

This year, the awards cover eight categories with a trophy and $5,000 in prize money awarded to individuals in each category.

The winners in each of the eight award categories for 2013 were:

  1. Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry and Physics: Professor John Webb
  2. Excellence in Biological Sciences (Ecology, environmental,agricultural and organismal): Professor Robert Park
  3. Excellence in Biological Sciences (Cell and molecular,medical, veterinary and genetics): Professor Katharina Gaus
  4. Excellence in Engineering and Information and Communications Technologies: Professor Martina Stenzel
  5. Emerging Research: Scientia Professor Justin Gooding
  6. Renewable Energy Innovation: Professor Thomas Maschmeyer
  7. Innovation inPublic Sector Sciences and Engineering: Adjunct Professor Harvey Dillon
  8. Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education: Ms Nicolette Hilton

Previous Scientist of the Year 

2008 - Professor Martin Green, Executive Research Director of the ARC Photovoltaic Centre of Excellence, The University of New South Wales

2009 - Professor Stephen Simpson, Federation Fellow in the School of Biological Science, The University of Sydney. 

2010 - Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte for his work with the ARC Centre of Excellence for Autonomous Systems and the Australian Centre for Field Robotics at The University of Sydney.

2011 - Professor Michelle Simmons, Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, The University of New South Wales.

2012 - Professor John Aitken, Laureate Professor of Biological Sciences and Co-Director of the Priority Research Centre in Reproductive Science at the University of Newcastle.