Message from the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

Professor Mary O'Kane AC

The NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science & Engineering provide us with a unique opportunity to acknowledge and award our very best researchers and educators whose outstanding work has helped make this State an even better place to live.

The quantity and quality of nominations for the prizes never fails to impress and the standard of entries this year set the bar very high indeed. The judging panel, comprising of our former NSW Scientists of the Year, relished the challenge of deciding this year’s prize winners.

It’s an honour and privilege to be involved in this event, and I thank everyone involved – but, in particular, the Governor of New South Wales, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d), who has been an enthusiastic supporter of this event as Patron of the Prizes, the Honourable Mike Baird MP, Premier of New South Wales, for his ongoing commitment to the Prizes and our Minister, the Honourable Anthony Roberts MP, for his unfailing enthusiasm and support for the State’s R&D sector.

And thank you to the judging panel and to all those who sent us such excellent nominations.

It’s my great pleasure to welcome you to the 2016 NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science & Engineering. Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Photo by James Horan.