NSW Universities Intellectual Property Review process

Project initiation November 2022

- The NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer wrote to all Deputy Vice Chancellors Research advising them of the project and seeking their assistance to support the Review
- The Office of the Chief Scientist & Engineer, together with the NSW Innovation and Productivity Council undertook a desktop review of major IP reviews and reports, IP policies in NSW and select national and international university centres, and metrics used to rank innovation performance

Short interviews were held in December 2022 and January 2023

Initial advice on issues and developments was sought from a sample of stakeholders, including:

- Dr Michael Molinari, Managing Director, IP Group
- Professor Dan Johnson, Pro Vice Chancellor Research, Innovation and Enterprise, Macquarie University
- Ms Lisa Emerson, NSW Modern Manufacturing Commissioner
- Emeritus Professor Annabelle Duncan, Chair NSW Physical Sciences Fund (formerly CSIRO and Vice Chancellor and CEO University of New England)
- Dr Rob Daniels, Brandon Capital (formerly CEO Elastagen)
- Ms Kelly Constable, Partner, One-Ventures and Mr Ben Constable, Managing Director Lumira Ventures
- Professor Lyria Bennett-Moses, Director UNSW Allens Hub for Technology, Law and Innovation, Professor and Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Law and Justice, University of New South Wales
- Professor David Miron, Director Strategic Research Initiatives and Professor Chris Armstrong, Deputy Vice Chancellor Research, University of New England

A series of stakeholder panel sessions was undertaken

Panel sessions commenced in February 2023, with representatives from the following stakeholder groups:

- NSW universities
- Investors
- Medical Research Institutes and national agencies
- Senior Researchers based in universities experienced in commercialising technologies
- Companies/Founders
- Individuals with other expertise patent attorneys, legal and IP experts
- Synthesis sessions to test feedback

Panel Attendees

- The Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC (Chair)
- Professor Ali Abbas, Co-founder and Director Scimita Ventures, Deputy Director Industry Innovation and Commercialisation, Sydney Nano, The University of Sydney
- Professor Myriam Amielh, Dean Industry and Innovation, Australian Catholic University
- Professor Christopher Armstrong PSM, Deputy Vice Chancellor Research, University of New England
- Professor Lyria Bennett-Moses, Director UNSW Allens Hub for Technology, Law and Innovation, University of New South Wales

- Dr Tania Bezzobs, Director Research Office, University of Technology Sydney
- Ms Clare Birch, Investments Associate, Blackbird
- Professor Timothy Boyle, Director Innovation and Commercialisation, ANSTO
- Mr Troy Brown, Commercialisation and IP Manager, Western Sydney University
- Dr Lewis Collins, CEO, BioScout
- Mr Ben Constable, Managing Director, Lumira Ventures
- Ms Kelly Constable, Partner, One-Ventures
- Mr Warwick Dawson, Pro Vice Chancellor Research Industry and Engagement, University of Newcastle
- Dr Robert Daniels, Venture Partner, Brandon Capital
- Dr Paul Di Pietro, Dean of Research, Knowledge Exchange and Translation, University of Wollongong
- Emeritus Professor Annabelle Duncan, Chair, NSW Physical Science Fund
- Mr Martin Duursma, Partner, Main Sequence
- Mr Robert Doubleday, Senior Manager, Research Grants and Partnerships, Charles Sturt University
- Professor Renate Egan, Executive Director, Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics, University of New South Wales
- Ms Lisa Emerson, NSW Modern Manufacturing Commissioner
- Dr Cathy Foley, Australian Chief Scientist
- Dr Katrina Frankcombe, Translation and Commercialisation Manager, The Centenary Institute
- Dr Parisa Glass, Director of Innovation and Enterprise, The George Institute
- Ms Jess Gledhill, Investment Manager, Brandon Capital
- Dr Anna Grocholsky, Director Commercialisation, Heart Research Institute
- Dr Roslyn Hendriks, Chief Commercial Development Officer, Garvan Institute for Medical Research
- Dr Julia Hill, Head of Commercialisation, Children's Medical Research Institute
- Mr Tim Horan, Senior Manager Strategic Partnerships and Growth, Western Sydney University
- Professor Dan Johnson, Pro Vice Chancellor Research, Innovation and Enterprise, Macquarie University
- Dr Jehan Kanga, Founder and CEO, Rux Energy
- Professor Maria Kavallaris AM, Founding Director, Australian Centre for NanoMedicine, University of New South Wales, Head of Translational Cancer Medicine, Children's Medical Research Institute
- Dr Paul Kelly, Founding Partner and Director, One-Ventures
- Dr Heba Khamis, CEO and Co-founder, Contactile
- Dr Dax Kukulj, A/Director Enterprise, University of New South Wales
- Dr Melissa Mail, Investment Manager, UniSeed
- Dr Leong Mar, Commercial Initiatives Director, CSIRO
- Dr Michael Molinari, Managing Director, IP Group
- Dr Mobin Nomvar, Managing Director, Scimita Ventures
- Ms Anne O'Neill, Director Enterprise, International Partnerships and Clinical Trials, Office for Health and Medical Research, NSW Health
- Distinguished Professor Ian Paulsen, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Synthetic Biology, Macquarie University
- Ms Caitlyn Pitt, Principal Policy Officer, Enterprise and International Partnerships, Office for

Health and Medical Research, NSW Health

- Dr Simon Poole AO, Co-Founder and Director, Cylite; Board, Australian National Fabrication Facility
- Distinguished Professor Peter Ralph, Founder, NSW Deep Green Biotech Hub; Executive Director, Climate Change Cluster, University of Technology Sydney
- Mr Greg Redden, Executive Director, Science and Technology Partnerships and Commercialisation, Defence Australia
- Dr Steve Scheding, Co-founder and Director, Green Atlas
- Mr Charlie Taylor, Chair, NSW Innovation and Productivity Council
- Dr Andrew Tindall, Principal Enterprise Officer, The University of Sydney
- Ms Dina Titkova, UNSW Founders
- Professor Gordon Wallace, Executive Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science, University of Wollongong
- Professor Kimberlee Weatherall, Professor of Law, The University of Sydney
- Ms Sally-Ann Williams, CEO, Cicada Innovations
- Mr Todd Williams, Advisor, Hunter Medical Research Institute
- Dan Winson, CEO and Founder, Zetifi

Secretariat

- Dr Suzanne Pierce, Director Policy Science and Research, Office of the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer (project lead)
- Dr Leesa Keogh, Manager Projects, Office of the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer
- Ms Louise Gillespie, Associate Director, NSW Innovation and Productivity Council
- Ms Colette McGrath, Senior Policy Advisor, NSW Innovation and Productivity Council
- Mr Giles Robinson, Analyst, NSW Innovation and Productivity Council