NSW Universities

There are 11 public universities in New South Wales, several of which appear in various world ranking indices including the Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU), QS World University Rankings, and the Times Higher Education World University Rankings.

UNSW logo unsw

Pictured: UNSW Australia's Kensington campus (source: www.unsw.edu.au)

University of Sydney logo University of Sydney

Pictured: The University of Sydney (source: www.sydney.edu.au)

Macquarie University logoMacquarie University

Pictured: Macquarie University at North Ryde (source: www.mq.edu.au)

University of Newcastle logo University of Newcastle

Pictured: The University of Newcastle's Callaghan campus (source: www.myuniversity.gov.au)

UTS NEW LOGO University of Technology Sydney

Pictured: The University of Technology Sydney at Broadway, in inner-Sydney (source: www.uts.edu.au)

wollongong University of Wollongong

Pictured: University of Wollongong (source: www.uow.edu.au)

University of New England logo University of New England

Pictured: The University of New England at Armidale, on the NSW Northern Tablelands (source: www.myuniversity.gov.au)

University of Western Sydney

Pictured: Western Sydney University's Penrith Campus (source: www.myuniversity.gov.au)

Southern Cross University logo Southern Cross University

Pictured: SCU's Lismore Campus, on the NSW North Coast (source: www.myuniversity.gov.au)

Charles Sturt University logo Charles Sturt University

Pictured: CSU's campus at Bathurst, in central-western NSW (source: www.csu.edu.au)

Australian Catholic University logo Australian Catholic University

Pictured: The North Sydney campus of the Australian Catholic University (source: www.acu.edu.au)

In addition to the public universities, a private university, The University of Notre Dame Australia, has a presence in Sydney.