A NSW Government website

Montage of Professor Edward Holmes

Professor Edward Holmes is the 2020 NSW Scientist of the Year

Eminent University of Sydney virologist wins the state's top science prize.


Koala Research Milestone Achieved with Release of Genomic Data

New genomic data has been released to help NSW in its steps to double the koala population by 2050.


Science in NSW

UTS and The University of Sydney appointed to lead Connectivity Innovation Network

New Connectivity Innovation Network announced, joining NSSN, DIN, NSW Circular and the NSW Space Research Network.

Connectivity Innovation Network design


Science & Research Breakfast Seminars

Tickets now available for Prof Ian Paulsen's 8 December breakfast seminar, 'Synthetic Biology: Inspired by Nature, Designed by Science'.

Professor Ian Paulsen


Breakthrough Technology to Provide Farm-Wide Wi-Fi

Zetifi, a 2020 Physical Sciences Fund grant recipient, will collaborate with the Food Agility CRC to provide farm-wide internet coverage.

Luke Brodrick from Zetifi and Andrew Dumeresq, farmer from Gregadoo, NSW in front of a ute equipped with Zetifi equipment


New Report Offers Roadmap for Creating NSW Hydrogen Jobs of the Future

The NSW Government has released a new report outlining a roadmap which could see NSW become a global renewable energy superpower.

Solar panels under a blue sky

About the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

The NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer, Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, consults widely with academia, industry and government to ensure scientific knowledge and research can be adapted and used to benefit the people, environment, industry and economy of NSW.