A NSW Government website


Inaugural NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

Inaugural NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer, Professor Mary ACO'Kane
Professor Mary O'Kane AC, NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer, 2008 - 2018.

Professor Mary O'Kane

Professor Mary O’Kane AC, the inaugural NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer, is a company director and Executive Chairman of O’Kane Associates, a Sydney-based consulting practice specialising in government reviews and research and innovation matters.

Professor O'Kane is Chair of the NSW Independent Planning Commission and a board member of the Cross River Rail Delivery Authority. She is also Chair or a board member of several research centre boards.

Professor O’Kane was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1996-2001. She is a former Chair of the board of the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy, a former member of the Commonwealth’s Review of the National Innovation System, the Australian Research Council and the Cooperative Research Centres Committee, the board of FH Faulding & Co Ltd and the board of CSIRO. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Technology and Engineering and an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia.